Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization:
Make Your Drop Down Menu In Front Of The Flash Player
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 09/06/06 16:42 
This will make your drop down menu in Jamroom 3 go on top of your flash player and not drop down behind your player if your player is close to the menu.

Add this to the code loading your flash player.........

In the <object> part add........

Code:

Code
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />



In the <embed> part add..........

Code:

Code
wmode="opaque"


Works in IE for sure, but not tested in all browsers.


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
Paul
Jamroom Team


Joined: 20 Aug 2003
Posts: 5341
Location: Nottingham, UK

Posted: 09/07/06 02:42 
Thanks daddysylem
It works in Firefox as well.
I was wondering how to fix that Wink Very Happy
Pa


_________________
Paul Asher
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 10/13/06 07:20 
This may work for flash players, but it does not work for embedded windows media players, does anyone know how to get around this?

Thanks Smile


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 10/13/06 07:57 

SixString:
This may work for flash players, but it does not work for embedded windows media players, does anyone know how to get around this?

Thanks Smile


Figured it out, you have to change this


Code
PARAM NAME=”transparentatStart” VALUE=”false”


to this


Code
PARAM NAME=”transparentatStart” VALUE=”true”


and use transparent instead of opaque.

Works nicely. Wink


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
zues



Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 19

Posted: 10/13/06 16:12 
When you play the video, the dropdown menu is hiding again. Does anyone know how to make this work with all the browsers?

Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 10/13/06 19:39 
Yes it is and I haven't found a way to get around it, also... the menus still hide behind the controls in FireFox.


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 10/14/06 01:08 
Can one of you give me a link to a page with these problems on them.
I'd like to see what your talking about, and maybe I can help.

Thanks.......


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 10/14/06 06:27 
Hey daddysylem,

Its a windows media palyer embedded in the video spotlight.

http://www.tunesterz.ca


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 10/14/06 15:33 
Try this and see if it works...........

Add these........
<PARAM NAME="windowlessVideo" VALUE="true">

windowlessVideo="true"


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
zues



Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 19

Posted: 10/14/06 18:01 
<PARAM NAME="windowlessVideo" VALUE="true"> makes it work when using IE but Firefox and Opera are still not working. Any other ideas what to do with this?

Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 10/14/06 19:10 
Make sure you add the..........
<PARAM NAME="windowlessVideo" VALUE="true">
to the "<object" section of your code.

And add the........
windowlessVideo="true"
to the "<embed" section of your code.

The "<object" section handles IE, and the "<embed" section is what handles firefox.

I'm not sure any of this will work for Opera..........


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
zues



Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 19

Posted: 10/14/06 19:16 
Hi daddysylem, please check tunesterz.ca and check the source code. I thought I had already done what you suggested but it still doesn't work. I don't care about Opera that much but Firefox...

Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 10/14/06 22:45 

zues:
Hi daddysylem, please check tunesterz.ca and check the source code. I thought I had already done what you suggested but it still doesn't work. I don't care about Opera that much but Firefox...


I'm sorry I didn't check your code before I posted that.......

Im going to see if I can duplicate this on my test site so I can play with the code and try to get this working for you.

I'll let you know what I find out..........


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
Douglas
Jamroom Team


Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 6639
Location: Tornado Alley!

Posted: 10/15/06 08:15 
It seems to be working fine with IE, its just in FF the menu still tries to hide behind the controls only... it doesn't hide behind the playscreen. Is there a variable you can use to keep the controls behind the menu?

Thanks for your help daddysylem Wink


_________________
Douglas Hackney
Jamroom Network Team Member: http://www.jamroom.net
Priority Support: http://www.jamroom.net/Support_Center
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 10/15/06 21:38 

SixString:
It seems to be working fine with IE, its just in FF the menu still tries to hide behind the controls only... it doesn't hide behind the playscreen. Is there a variable you can use to keep the controls behind the menu?

Thanks for your help daddysylem Wink


I'm sorry but I've tried everything.
Nothing I can find will work on Firefox to keep the menu from going behind the controls of windows media player. The only suggestions I can make at this time would be to make the media player popup in its own window to play or move it to your side bar instead of the main body.

Firefox is just not going to cooperate on this............. Confused


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization

12Next >
 
Solutions
• Social Media Platform
• Social Networking Software
• Musician Website Manager
• Community Builder
Products
• Jamroom Core
• Jamroom Addons
• Jamroom Modules
• Jamroom Marketplace
Support
• Support Forum
• Documentation
• Support Center
• Contact Support
Community
• Community Forum
• Member Sites
• Developers
Company
• About Us
• Contact Us
• Privacy Policy
©2003 - 2010 Talldude Networks, LLC.