Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
DS Flash Players:
flash player error when artist doesnt give 'album name'
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 05/19/07 09:52 
I have the dark evolution theme for jamroom 3 - im notsure if its the theme or the jamroom function

If the artist leaves the 'album' field out in the 'create song'section then on the artist page if you click the 'play album' button it says 'defined' and wont play the song.

I put their album as 'untitled' and it then worked.

Because alot of artists dont specify an album I was wondering if theres sopmething we could do to make it more user friendly.

Any idea's?

Back to top
Brian
Jamroom Team


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 37583
Location: Seattle, WA

Posted: 05/23/07 17:00 
Moving to 3rd party support as the flash player likely needs to be updated to handle this condition.

- Brian


_________________
Make sure and check out:
* The Jamroom FAQ
* The Jamroom Documentation
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 05/23/07 22:43 

uvfreak:
I have the dark evolution theme for jamroom 3 - im notsure if its the theme or the jamroom function

If the artist leaves the 'album' field out in the 'create song'section then on the artist page if you click the 'play album' button it says 'defined' and wont play the song.

I put their album as 'untitled' and it then worked.

Because alot of artists dont specify an album I was wondering if theres sopmething we could do to make it more user friendly.

Any idea's?


I'll check this out, but it would help if I knew the version of Jamroom your running and if you could give me a link to one of the pages this is happening on.
You can just PM me the link if you want..........

Thanks


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 07/13/07 04:29 
Which is easier to do? Fix the flash player to deal with empty 'album' fields or making the 'album' fields mandatory - although not all artits have an album to specify.

I think i just answered my own question.

any idea's on the flash player?

Back to top
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 07/13/07 04:31 
or how about making it so that if a user does not fill in the 'album' field it just displays 'not specified' or 'no album' this way the value will still be there for the flash player to work.

Im sure alot of people have this problem.

Any idea's?

Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 07/13/07 10:26 

uvfreak:
or how about making it so that if a user does not fill in the 'album' field it just displays 'not specified' or 'no album' this way the value will still be there for the flash player to work.

Im sure alot of people have this problem.

Any idea's?


Ok, I looked into this.......
And this will take a little explaining.

First... The player will only play what you tell it to play.
Keeping this in mind.........

The code used in the player embed code to play an artist album is this..

Code
<param name="movie" value="{$JAMROOM_URL}/include/flash/evo_large.swf?playlist_url={$XSPF_HIFI_ALBUM_URL}&autoload=true&info_button_text=Visit+Our+Site%21&playlist_title={$system_name}+Media+Player"/>


This Jamroom code {$XSPF_HIFI_ALBUM_URL} produces this

Code
http%3A%2F%2Fwww.yoursite.net%2Fplay.php%3Fmode%3Dsong_hifi%26band_id%3D5%26song_id%3DAlbum_Name%26type%3Dxspf


Notice the "song_id" in the code above uses the "Album Name" to tell the player what album to play. If there isn't an album name, the player doesn't know what you want it to play.

You will either need to find another way to tell the player to play an album without using the album name in the embed code or simply assign a name to the album.
I don't know of any other way to do this in Jamroom.

Hope this makes sense..........


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 07/16/07 00:22 
hmm. Thanks for narrowing it down. Anybody have any idea's?

Back to top
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 07/17/07 00:31 
anybody have any ideas? I need to sort it before I launch my site.

Please help.

It can't be that hard surely.

If field is empty replace with value? theres has to be some simple 'if' code.

Back to top
Brian
Jamroom Team


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 37583
Location: Seattle, WA

Posted: 07/17/07 08:50 
As long as the album is NOT named, Jamroom will use the word "default". This is also used in the {$XSPF_HIFI_ALBUM_URL} variable, so it should "line up".

You might try contacting Oinkba Design and see if they can assist you in finding out what variables they are using in the play call that could cause this issue.

http://www.oinkba.com/support

Hope this helps!

- Brian


_________________
Make sure and check out:
* The Jamroom FAQ
* The Jamroom Documentation
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 07/17/07 09:09 

bigguy:
As long as the album is NOT named, Jamroom will use the word "default". This is also used in the {$XSPF_HIFI_ALBUM_URL} variable, so it should "line up".

You might try contacting Oinkba Design and see if they can assist you in finding out what variables they are using in the play call that could cause this issue.

http://www.oinkba.com/support

Hope this helps!

- Brian


I could be wrong but I just checked my version of Jamroom 3.0.29 with a new artist and it doesn't say "Default" in the album field if no Album Name is entered. Its just blank........

And Oinkba uses this call {$XSPF_HIFI_ALBUM_URL} in the embed code in there template to play albums.


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
Brian
Jamroom Team


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 37583
Location: Seattle, WA

Posted: 07/17/07 09:14 
Looking at the code, you are correct in 3.0.29. However, in 3.0.30 this bit of code was added:


Code

if (!isset($_row['song_album']) || strlen($_row['song_album']) === 0) {
$_row['song_album'] = 'default';
}


So it should work in 3.0.30 and newer..

Thanks!

- Brian


_________________
Make sure and check out:
* The Jamroom FAQ
* The Jamroom Documentation
Back to top
daddysylem
DS Flash Players


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 4086
Location: Southern California

Posted: 07/17/07 20:46 

bigguy:
Looking at the code, you are correct in 3.0.29. However, in 3.0.30 this bit of code was added:


Code

if (!isset($_row['song_album']) || strlen($_row['song_album']) === 0) {
$_row['song_album'] = 'default';
}


So it should work in 3.0.30 and newer..

Thanks!

- Brian


Makes sense........
Guess I need to update my test sites....... Confused


_________________
I have no idea why I do this..................
Email: daddysylem[at]dsplayerskins.com
DSPlayerSkins.com
GCFireSprinkler.com
Back to top
uvfreak



Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 262

Posted: 07/18/07 06:20 
I have version 3.0.29. So I'll update to 3.0.30 and hopefully it will resolve it.

Thanks,

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
DS Flash Players

 
Solutions
• Social Media Platform
• Social Networking Software
• Musician Website Manager
• Community Builder
Products
• Jamroom Core
• Jamroom Addons
• Jamroom Modules
• Jamroom Marketplace
Support
• Support Forum
• Documentation
• Support Center
• Contact Support
Community
• Community Forum
• Member Sites
• Developers
Company
• About Us
• Contact Us
• Privacy Policy
©2003 - 2010 Talldude Networks, LLC.