Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization:
Flash Tip for embedding band information etc.
temp



Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 74

Posted: 08/30/04 16:25 
I stumbled upon a nice feature of flash that lets you add URL-ish strings onto the end of the embedd tag within templates. These are subsequently picked up within the php pages and means that you can have one flash movie (without any actionscript) acting as though it's pulling variables from the database.

Here's an example from the 'about_header.tpl' file from the jm_cobalt theme. I've stripped the rest of the code and left just the flash object code...

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="600" height="100">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.addasong.com/menu.swf?artist={BAND_NAME}&title=Presents...">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<embed src="http://www.addasong.com/menu.swf?artist={BAND_NAME}&title=Presents..." quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="600" height="100"></embed>
</object>

The code in red is the bit that actually hooks out the variables from the php page and passes it to the flash movie. Within the flash movie I would simply create 2 dynamic text fields - one called 'artist' and one called 'title' (without the single quotes). You don't even need to use a loadvariables command in Flash.

Nice. You can see it working at http://www.addasong.com.

Back to top
Benj



Joined: 25 Dec 2004
Posts: 149

Posted: 03/10/05 11:45 
sweet as hell so i could use this to display artist names in there sites in flash... so thats how music hype does it Very Happy

Back to top
Pitufo



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 63

Posted: 03/10/05 22:53 
would i have to add this artist(meaning the textbox instence) = Artist(the loaded value)

Or would the texbox automaticaly have that value on load? or how can i acces this variables? or strings i guss by the name assigned any help would be appreciatted

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization

 
Solutions
• Social Media Platform
• Social Networking Software
• Musician Website Manager
• Community Builder
Products
• Jamroom Core
• Jamroom Addons
• Jamroom Modules
• Jamroom Marketplace
Support
• Support Forum
• Documentation
• Support Center
• Contact Support
Community
• Community Forum
• Member Sites
• Developers
Company
• About Us
• Contact Us
• Privacy Policy
©2003 - 2010 Talldude Networks, LLC.