Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
Ultrabubble:
New: SefJam Bookmarks
CanPanther



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 326
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 07/07/09 16:00 

SteveX:
Yes, you can use the url parameter, there is an example in the read me file.


Sorry, Steve, but I don't understand the example shown in the readme at all.


Quote:
url=`$JAMROOM_URL``$REQUEST_URI`


Does this mean there should be 2 URLS in this, one for the referring page, and one for the destination?

Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 07/07/09 16:39 
No, you can put whatever url you like into the url parameter.

So if you are in the artist theme and want to send all traffic to their index page, it would be something simple like url="{$ARTIST_URL}" or if you are bookmarking from a song theme or ranking row, something like url="{$ARTIST_URL}/?song={$SONG_ID}"

If you wnat to provide bookmarks for each individual page, it will become more comlplicated, but you most likely want to focus traffic on a single page anyway. (for google rank reasons)

You need to make sure that the variables that you are using to create the url are available in the templates that you are placing the function in, but if you experiment with it a bit you will find that there are plenty of ways to use this.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
CanPanther



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 326
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 07/08/09 06:04 
I am trying to get this working in the popup players. This is the code I am using...


Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`" sites="facebook,digg,google,yahoo,delicious,reddit,stumbleupon,magnolia,slashdot,technorati,spurl,newsgator,bloglines" description="`$BAND_NAME` from `$BAND_LOCATION`. `$BAND_STORY`" url="{$artist_url}index.php?song={$song_id}"}


I am testing it on Facebook because I don't have an account anywhere else. The description isn't getting passed along and the popup is displaying the following code piece of the code...


Code
index.php?song=141"}


...and the song URL doesn't get transferred. I tried using your code too...


Code
{$ARTIST_URL}/?song={$SONG_ID}


...but the popup displayed this...


Code
/?song="}


What am I doing wrong here?

Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 07/08/09 09:26 
{$ARTIST_URL} should work if you are generating through the theme generator.

Does Facebook have the necessary code /fields in place to deal with the description? Not all websites do.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
CanPanther



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 326
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 07/08/09 13:01 

SteveX:
{$ARTIST_URL} should work if you are generating through the theme generator.

Does Facebook have the necessary code /fields in place to deal with the description? Not all websites do.


{$ARTIST_URL} seems to be working. It's the rest of it that doesn't seem to be getting thru. I don't know what the theme generator is and have never used it. I can't seem to find 'Theme Generator' option in Config or Tools.

How do I check to see if Facebook has the necessary fields?

Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 07/08/09 13:37 
The theme generator is what makes the artist profiles pages.

Does Facebook have a place to enter a description manually?


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
CanPanther



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 326
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 07/08/09 14:13 

SteveX:
The theme generator is what makes the artist profiles pages.


So this addon can only be used in artist profile pages and can't be used anywhere else, ie. popups from the index or Songs pages?


SteveX:
Does Facebook have a place to enter a description manually?


Once passed to the Facebook page, yes it does. It has a text entry box, followed by the link, a site pic (usually powered.png.) and the site's META Description.

Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 07/08/09 14:38 
No, it can be used from anywhere, just put the url you want to be bookmarked into the url parameter.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
CanPanther



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 326
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted: 07/08/09 23:17 
I'm sorry, Steve, but I just can't get this to work from player_audio.tpl. I've tried different lines of code on Google, Yahoo, Digg, and Facebook:


Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`"}

Google & Digg displayed [2xtunes: :].
Yahoo displays [2xtunes: %20%3A].
No effect on Facebook.

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks url=`$ARTIST_URL`}

URL assignments are totally ignored by all sites and the player_audio.tpl link is used

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks description="`$BAND_NAME` from `$BAND_LOCATION`. `$BAND_STORY`"}

Digg, Google, & Yahoo displayed [ from . ] but nothing else.
No change in Facebook.

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks url="{$ARTIST_URL}/?song={$SONG_ID}"}

This is the example you gave above.
In the pop-up, [/?song="}] is displayed starting right after the Facebook icon.
Digg won't recognize the link at all.
Google only displays [{].
No change in Yahoo or Facebook.

I did have some success with this line from the code you recently added in player_audio.tpl to display the song name link:

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks url='{$artist_url}index.php?song={$song_id}'}

In the pop-up, [index.php?song=158'}] is displayed right after the Facebook icon.
Google displayed [{http://www.2xtunes.com/Vern_Strub/] for the URL.
Digg won't recognize the link at all.
No change in Yahoo or Facebook.

Have you tried this in player_audio.tpl yet?

Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 07/09/09 01:41 
No, I haven't tried this in the audio player. Neither has anyone else that I know of.

The url parameter will accept any url you give it.

The problem is that you are not giving it the right variables to make the url, it will be different from each place that you use the popup (generated via ranking / via the theme generator).

You will get different results from each different site - they are all different in what info they accept and how they work.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
megaplatinum



Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 88

Posted: 12/19/09 12:23 
I don't know if this has been addressed in the mod, but at the end of the comments on the themes, I put this custom sefjam code in


Code
{if isset($OUTPUT_FILENAME)}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$MESSAGE_TITLE`" url="http://www.hardcodelinktomywebsite.com/comments/blog/band_id=`$BAND_ID`/blog_id=`$MESSAGE_ID`/"}
{else}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$MESSAGE_TITLE`"}
{/if}


Works great on most bookmarking systems.

Back to top
guruji



Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 215
Location: international

Posted: 12/28/09 16:25 
After I uploaded the file folders sefjam and smarty to the include Jamroom/plugins folder, I added the following codes to these tpls using the template editor; but nothing appears on the pages

I emptied cache and refreshed the page.

skins/Flashback/songs.tpl - penultimate line

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title=`$title`}


skins/flashback/artists_footer.tpl
skins/flashback/artists.tpl penultimate line

Code
{if isset($OUTPUT_FILENAME)}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`" url=`$ARTIST_URL``$OUTPUT_FILENAME`}
{else}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`"}
{/if}


What am I missing? Am I supposed to write in the band name and the artist url and song name as output file? and if so, do I keep the $?


_________________
Peace, Paradise & Joy!
http://peaceandparadise.com
Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 12/28/09 16:51 
The files are already in a directory structure. The instructions say:

Quote:
Upload the files to your Jamroom directory

Doing that should be enough on the upload side of things.

To double check you have uploaded correctly, make sure you have this file in this location:
include/plugins/smarty/function.jr_sefjam_bookmarks.php

It looks like you are using code from the Theme Profiles section of the Read Me.

Quote:
In Artist and Member Themes

For skin files you need to follow the first set of instructions for skin templates.

Put this into your skin template where it will show to verify it is working:

Code
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title=`$title`}

Then adjust the parameters to your requirements.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
guruji



Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 215
Location: international

Posted: 12/28/09 18:24 
ok I got the skin template to show the buttons! Thanks!

Q1: On the location page the buttons also appear above and below the artists - where to remove that?

Q2: In the themes/Flashback/theme_side.tpl
location: top; under presskit I added

Code
{if isset($OUTPUT_FILENAME)}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`" url=`$ARTIST_URL``$OUTPUT_FILENAME`}
{else}
{jr_sefjam_bookmarks title="`$BAND_NAME`: `$title`"}
{/if}

but in the artist page nothing shows up
I also added it near the top - doesn't show
I tried it in themes/Flashback/artist_info.tpl also
Which template would I add the code to so it appears in artists pages? (ideally on the right column)


_________________
Peace, Paradise & Joy!
http://peaceandparadise.com
Back to top
SteveX
Ultrabubble


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 8792
Location: Ultrabubble

Posted: 12/29/09 03:16 
For both Q1 and Q2 you must put the function in a place in the page where it will show once. If you are placing it wrongly in a table, or in a hidden div, you will not see it. If you place it somewhere where it will be looped through (a row template) then it will appear multiple times.

To make sure it is working, place it somewhere where you know it will show. Then move it to somewhere else on the page.


_________________
Kulshi Mezian!

"Stranger from another planet, welcome to our hole. Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock and roll"

Ultrabubble create things.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
Ultrabubble

< Previous12345Next >
 
Solutions
• Social Media Platform
• Social Networking Software
• Musician Website Manager
• Community Builder
Products
• Jamroom Core
• Jamroom Addons
• Jamroom Modules
• Jamroom Marketplace
Support
• Support Forum
• Documentation
• Support Center
• Contact Support
Community
• Community Forum
• Member Sites
• Developers
Company
• About Us
• Contact Us
• Privacy Policy
©2003 - 2010 Talldude Networks, LLC.