Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization:
Theme and Options Modification Questions
indiemanagers

Posted: 02/06/05 23:48 
Fist off let me say that I just got the Jamroom package installed and have not read over everything regarding the Smarty Templates etc. I also have no PHP skills and use Dreamweaver for all my HTML coding. I have limited HTML knowledge. I know, totally a disadvantage, but I am willing to learn.

That being said...

The site I am installing Jamroom for is using the scripts in a slightly different way than most sites.

We are not looking to be an OMD, but rather a destination for Managers or self-Managed artist who are Members of our site to upload artist profiles so that we can have Industry Executives browse the profiles and contact their management in case there is interest in the artist or the artists songs.

The only people able to access our Jamroom are registered members and Industry Executives who have been invited. We use the aMember program to manage our memberships (in case that bit of info helps).

Once the Member user has logged on, they are taken to a navigation area which gives them access to the Jamroom. Here they can register an artist and search the Jamroom (we have called this section of the site the "Artist Observatory").

Basically we want our Jamroom (Artist Observatory) to have the look and feel of our Members Section theme.

I was thinking the best way to maintain a uniform design would be to pick out one of the already installed Themes I liked and modifying it. Basically I just want to modify the colors and insert the Indie Managers Association Logo. I may also want to alter some of the fields that are available for contact info and put the Managers Name and contact info as well as the Artists contact info.

Can this be done? Are we allowed to modify existing themes? If so, what is the best way to tackle the process?