Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
The Greenroom:
New Laptop
Paul
Jamroom Team

Posted: 08/20/10 01:24 
Well, last weekend the cat jumped up onto the desk where I was working and on landing, knocked over a full mug of tea into my laptop. I turned it off immediately, then kicked the cat Wink , then took the laptop to bits and put it in the sun to dry out for a few days. Its still not working and I'm only slightly hopeful that it ever will again.
So, for a long time now I've been thinking of getting a Mac, even though I've never used one before, my premise being that their OS has got to be better, faster and less frustrating to use that any windoze offering (though I've not tried 7 yet).
Any advice and recommendations either way?
Cheers
Pa

djmerlyn
Jamroom Ustad

Posted: 08/20/10 03:09 

pasher:
my premise being that their OS has got to be better, faster and less frustrating to use that any windoze offering

Um, no. Smile I sorta consider it trading one evil for another myself.

"more server and network power than any host, dedicated to your jamroom site"
Paul
Jamroom Team

Posted: 08/20/10 08:19 

djmerlyn:

pasher:
my premise being that their OS has got to be better, faster and less frustrating to use that any windoze offering

Thanks DJ - That fills me with confidence Laughing

djmerlyn
Jamroom Ustad

Posted: 08/20/10 11:26 

pasher:

djmerlyn:

pasher:

Thanks DJ - That fills me with confidence Laughing

I would personally go for linux before apple. At dell you can get your new computer loaded with linux from the get go which is kinda cool.

With windows 7 now, I may not get another windows computer at all. I sorta have to have xp or vista to be able to do what I need to do and do it efficiently. But I noticed everyones dropped (or its getting exceedingly hard to get) xp and vista. So from my perspective microsoft doesn't currently have a viable os on the market with new computers Sad