Jamroom Logo Jamroom 5 Core
is now Open Source!
User Support Forum Archive (Read Only)
User Site Design, Integration and Customization:
New2Jamroom - Need Infos or help
hhiaclan

Posted: 07/10/13 09:43 
Hello Guys,

I am new to jamroom and would like to open a jamroom site.
I have been using ning.com since 2008 and running a hip hop social network based in Germany and covering all the German speaking areas including Austria & Switzerland.

I have been on ning 1.0 since 2008 until ning 2.0 was introduced in 2010. Since the beginning of this year ning introduced the 3.0 after being bought last year from Glammedia.com

Ning 2.0 was good although it was not tailored to the need of musicians or media networks like hosting music or video website it was still good. With the release of 3.0, ning dropped the ability of music and video upload thus making ning.3.0 just a publishing network and the drop of the media options is a loss that people like me who run a music network and not a bloging network cannot take.

It was a big loss and a bridge of contract to most people who have dedicated their time and money from day one building great networks and making ning what it is today, so that is when i like most other people started looking for alternatives.

In the past months i have started looking and finally came across jamroom and from all the alternatives i have seen jamroom seems to be the best that meets the requirement of the kind of network that i want to have. Although my ning 2.0 network is still online, ning will force people late summer this year to migrate to 3.0 which means all the songs, beats and videos which members uploaded on the networks will be lost.