After deleting a discussion, getting returned to the wrong page
Installation and Configuration
thechocolatelife:Can I assume that an update to the skin will overwrite all of the changes I've made?
No.. your changes are never overwritten. When you upgrade a skin or module, the new version is installed into a separate directory, and the "active" link is updated to point to it. So at no time is anything you've customized ever overwritten.
If you make changes directly to templates (say skins/jrNingja/index.tpl) then when you update the NEW index.tpl will take over. You would have to copy your old index.tpl file (now in a directory like skins/jrNingja-release-1.0.11) back over into the "active" directory (just named "jrNingja").
However, that's not the way you want to be customizing your site
Instead do it this way:
- go to ACP -> Tools -> Developer Tools -> Tools -> Clone Skin and make a CLONE of the jrNingJa skin. This will include any customizations you have made to this point. Name it something like myCustomNingja, and make it your active skin.
- now, whenever a new Ningja skin update comes out you can safely update, since jrNingja is not your active skin.
- after the update, go into the "templates" tab for your custom skin and use the "compare" button to compare your custom templates to the same templates in the new jrNingJa update. If you see a template has changed and you want to incorporate those changes in to your custom skin, you can click on the button at the bottom to overwrite your custom template with that template from the jrNingja. If you have other customizations and don't want to overwrite them, you can see what the changes are and manually copy them in to your template.
Let me know if that helps.