User Privacy Settings Don't Seem to Have Right Descriptions
Using Jamroom
davej56:Brian, I set the profile to Global, then I could find her and follow her, which I did from Dave. After doing that, then I set her back to shared, and now Dave can see her at that setting. Before changing her to Global, I couldn't see her at all whether she was set to Private or to Shared.
If Dave is not an admin account, that is correct - like I explained above. If Dave is an admin account, then something is wrong - I've never seen that before though (it works here on Jamroom.net).
Quote:How can a Shared profile get any followers, if the profile can only be seen by people who are already followers? Seems to me that they have to set to Global to get any followers in the first place.
That's correct. The reasoning behind it is that with Jamroom we did not want the module developers to have to worry about privacy - it should be automatic, and 100% in control of the user. The site owner should not be able to "accidentally" expose private items.
So if a profile is set to followers only, then only followers and admins will see items in lists from that profile - that's hard coded at the core level and cannot be changed (again, on purpose).
If a profile is trying to get followers, then they need to be GLOBAL - it's that simple. If they set their profile to followers only, then the assumption is that they know WHO they want to see their profile and will invite them and approve them to be followers. If they want just anyone to be able to follow them and find them, then it is no different than Global.
Let me know if that helps.