"Already used" in User profile edit page. using Japanese

irieweb
@irieweb
2 years ago
12 posts
Hi

If i enter Japanese in "profile_name" on the profile change screen, an error will occur.

"The User Name you have entered is already being used by another account."

This phenomenon always occurs when the user inputs in Japanese, but there is no problem when accessing as Admin.

Which specification is correct for this?

My hope is that "user_name"and"profile_url" should be a-z,0-9,-, but I would be happy if "profile_name" could be in Japanese.

Thank You!

--
I am not good at English. I do not really understand scripts like PHP. Please forgive me. It is difficult to find information on JAMROOM in Japanese.
NORIYOSHI TAKEUCHI

updated by @irieweb: 04/08/23 10:13:14PM
michael
@michael
2 years ago
7,692 posts
The profile_name_url needs to be in A-Z characters. Jamroom doesnt have a translitteration system to change 'マイケル' to 'michael' so what happens is the characters gets stripped and it becomes '' which is the same for anyone else using all japanese characters.

Try using the FORM DESIGNER on the profile update page to add the form field profile_name_url and enter a-z characters in there.

There is no issue with 2 profiles using the same profile_name but there is an issue with 2 profiles using the same profile_name_url because thats what gets used at yoursite.com/profile_name_url
irieweb
@irieweb
2 years ago
12 posts
Thank you! @micheal

I understand.

Using Japanese characters for "profile_name" is fine, but there is a problem with "profile_name_url", so we limit it to "A-Z" only.

Am I correct in this understanding?

I was a little skeptical.

As shown in the attached image, you can set it to Japanese by logging in as Admin and editing profile_name.

Attachments: Login-Admin1-4 JPG

If you log in with a user account, an error will occur even if the same process is performed. I didn't realize this.

Attachment: Login-User1~3 JPG