Disabling User and Maintaining Their Content
Installation and Configuration
Asil:The purpose is to keep the content of users who have either left the network, or been banned from the network, visible to all users. And, to stop the banned member from being able to access the site and delete content.
This is the only way I can think of to create the effect.
My question: is there a better way to do it?
This is the only way I can think of to create the effect.
My question: is there a better way to do it?
Yes - there is a better way. While it's not viewable in the User Account section, just click on the "View Keys" option in the User Browser the search for the username. Set the "user_active" value to "0" (zero) and save.
That will prevent the user from being able to log in.
Like other posters have mentioned however, you might want to discuss this strategy with a lawyer and ensure your Terms of Service cover you the best you can.