solved jrGenosis Skin broke everything

alt=
@techiegirl
9 years ago
8 posts
First question, do I have to use the jrGenosis skin for the features of Genosis to work?

I am brand new to jamroom and I got it all installed, server configured so all the dots are green, then after installing the Genosis package, I changed the skin to jsGenosis and everything broke. The main page was blank and when I viewed the code it was simply two blank lines. Every admin and other page had the jrGenosis black and silvery sortof wood grain background with nothing over it but the Genosis logo top left which when clicked on, took me back to the blank page again.

I managed to change the skin back to jrElastic from phpmyadmin, but now what? I checked my updates section in admin and it says all the skins are up to date. What should I do?
updated by @techiegirl: 08/06/15 04:10:48PM
michael
@michael
9 years ago
7,692 posts
1. yes.

Skins are more than just a theme, the skin designers get to pick and choose what options they make available to be displayed to the visitor. So technically 'no', but no other skin is setup to deal with Family Tree creation. For example if you put the genosis modules into a jamroom system running the ProJam skin:

http://demo.jamroom.net/jrProJam/

Its got links to "Gigs/Events" which make absolutely no sense in relation to a Family Tree.

You could customize Genosis skin or customize one of the other skins to be a Family tree, but they're not a straight drop in.
alt=
@techiegirl
9 years ago
8 posts
Any idea why it broke the site as described and what I can possibly do about it? I can't find anything that might be related, and I have the newest version of Jamroom, Genosis, and applicable jrGenosis skin.
michael
@michael
9 years ago
7,692 posts
Hard to say without a description of what "broke the site" means.

Does it mean:
* my monitor caught fire and melted
* the screen was all white on a particular url
* an error was displayed